I lost my dad to Fox News: How a generation was captured by thrashing hysteria

Old white people are drowning in despair and rage. Here’s how my father lost his mind — thanks to his cable diet

Source: www.salon.com

I felt like I was reading words I could have written; not so much about my own father who died almost 26 years ago but, sadly, of some of my contemporaries who now fit the Fox Profile in more ways than just gender, race, and age.

 

All hope is not lost. Not by a long shot.

 

First, I have total faith and confidence that my children and their generation will not be the scared and uninformed fuck-ups we Baby Boomers have become. We have the set example for them starting with the early 80s for how NOT to run a government, an economy or, with rare exceptions along the way, a civil society.

 

There’s also this. It’s how the article concludes. It sums up nicely where my hope rests when it comes to the rest of us.

 

"I, and people like me, have managed to break the cycle of conservative red-and race-baiting. I’ve noticed similar attitude shifts among some of my close friends, who have likewise drifted from the televised rage of our fathers. I only wish I could do something to ease the anxiety of those I love, an emotion that is a cash cow for exploitative right-wing commentators. But I have no real solution, other than to turn off the television. Sadly, for some of the nation’s elderly, they seem to have no desire whatsoever to rethink the politics of fear and Fox News. It’s a criminal waste of retirement."

– Edwin Lyngar, self-professed "libertarian and frequent Republican voter" and one-time fan of Fox News

See on Scoop.itDidYouCheckFirst

Leave a Reply

